Why People Fail to Increase Their Vertical Jump?

OK guys, today I want to talk about why people fail to increase their vertical jump and why is this problem is so prominent? It's not so easy to answer this question in one post but I will try to give some of the reasons that I think are causing it.

 

Basically I think most people who train their vertical jump don't have an idea of how to do it correctly.

Most of them think that if they’ll just go out to the court and play basketball it will happen naturally. Well I've got news for you guys, you're not going to increase your vertical jump just by playing basketball, it's simply not going to happen. I am playing basketball my entire life, I’ve logged so many hours of pickup games and it didn't do anything to my jumping ability.

 

I won’t say doesn't help at all but as you get to a certain level or a certain threshold, playing basketball is simply not going to get you any further and you need to step up your training.

 

Another thing that causes people to fail is that even if they try to take their vertical jump training seriously they still have no idea how to do it correctly, they try to train by jumping over and over and over again and they think that with this method they will succeed. I admit I also did this mistake, what I would do is standing vertical leaps and running vertical leaps and it didn't do anything serious do my jump. I did gain a little bit from this method but it was nowhere near to getting me to dunk.

vertical jump fail

So what I did is I went to online and I started researching about jump programs and I came up with the Jump Manual. I didn't buy the Jump Manual from the beginning but first I signed up to the author, Jacob Hiller, newsletter and her shared in there how you should really increase your vertical.

 

Basically I’ve learned that the most important principle for increasing my jump is strength plus quickness equals explosion, this is the most important thing to remember guys! If there's anything you should take from here today it’s this principle. Basically that means that if you will get enough strength in your legs and you’ll get your legs fire up quickly, you will get the explosion you want and jump high enough in order to dunk. Simple, right?

 

Most people make the mistake of working on their jumping endurance and it’s very common to fall into this mistake.

 

So once I learned this principle I started taking my training according to this principle I did everything in order to strengthen my legs by basically doing strength training exercises such as squats, lunges, single leg squats, leg presses, calf raises etc… The other part which is the quickness part means basically doing plyometrics. Plyometrics are basically exercises that are designed to help you make your muscles fire up quickly. There are lots of exercises for plyometrics and I'm not going to get into it now because it’s a very big subject on its own but you can Google it if you want to understand it some more. I hope in future to do a post dedicated only to the subject of plyometrics.

 

So now that we’re past that we need to understand the whole picture in terms of what we need to do and how we need to do it.

 

jumping endurance
Training Your Jumping Endurance?

Everything I said until now is just one part of training but there’s also other aspects like form, stability, balance, stretching, injury prevention, nutrition (which is critical factor in determining our level of success btw) and other things as well.

So basically this is the reason I think most people fail to increase their vertical leap, I think this is the most crucial one because they fail to utilize a fully systemized approach to their training.

 

Do you think that if they just do what they read on Wikipedia or another article on the internet then they would do good?! I think it’s a lot more than that… there’s also the aspect of self discipline and motivation and the big thing you need to understand is that if you really want to reach a 35-40 inch vertical - you must conduct yourself in a certain way and adapt yourself a solid routine if you really want to get good results.

The reason I say it is because it’s simply not going to happen overnight and it is something that requires a lot of training and dedication and because of that people fail a lot, even if they know the right stuff they still fail because knowledge is not enough, you still gotta do it and execute it

 

That's where programs come into the picture, cause even if you don't want to train it doesn't matter you still gotta stick to it so that's what you do.

 

When I look at people like LeBron James and Blake Griffin, Nate Robinson etc… all of which have insane vertical jumps. I’ve studied their training patterns and no matter who I look upon I always see the same thing – in order to develop a superior work ethic they have programs, coaches, trainers and a huge staff who help and support them reaching their goals.

 

As you can see guys it’s not just the knowledge you have that determines if you will succeed or not, it’s having a system that enables you to really succeed and that keeps you on track is what determines eventually. People could be super smart and still they can jump high because they never took the right approach.

 

After realizing this I understood that I really needed a good system and something that will really make me “stick” to the program, therefore I chose Jacob Hillers Jump Manual and this was the decision that eventually led me to the massive success I had with reaching my 30 inch vertical jump goal.

 

I hope you now understand what it takes and even if you don't choose the Jump Manual you still gotta have a program or something that will keep you accountable and sticking to your goal because it's not easy to train 4-5 times a weak and it’s a very tough regiment.

 

So there you have it, I hope you have gained some insights with this post, now go and apply them and make the most out of your training.

 

P.S. If have the money you can always get yourself a jump trainer

 

jump trainer

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Pages

Recent Posts